WRATH – One of the Seven Deadly Sins. Room photo by Inga Seliverstova.

The seven deadly sins have a long history in art; now, they got a new interpretation by an AI artist.

»The Seven Deadly Sins« seem to inspire people again and again. Over a long period of our art history, they are a recurring theme that the most talented artists have taken up. Well, this time, »The Sins« have been interpreted by artificial intelligence and brought to life digitally.

Envy, gluttony, greed, lust, pride, sloth, and wrath – the so-called seven deadly sins are widely known and even more widely committed. The terms describe seven motives and patterns of behavior that, although branded as vices, actually govern many people’s behavior in daily life.

Let’s look around us and notice that deadly sins are an integral part of our modern lives.

Malicious tongues even claim that the economy lives quite well from our sins – for example, from gluttony, which can be seen in consumerism like the Black Friday sales or flat-rate boozing; or from envy, which can provide an incentive for success in competition.

But the deadly sins are also used today for political or socially relevant goals – for example, in the area of environmental protection and sustainability, where even driving an SUV or traveling by air is outlawed as misconduct by segments of the population.

The 7 deadly sins will probably exist as long as there are souls in this world. And therefore, it is a beautiful subject for an artistic work that will always be topical.

LUST – One of the Seven Deadly Sins
GREED – One of the Seven Deadly Sins

These sins are the fundamental dangers of man and are called major sins because they are often the root of further sins.

Catechism of the Catholic Church

What are the Deadly Sins? A Catholic view.

In the past, they were often referred to as deadly sins. To some, they may also be known as root sins.
They are fundamental human dangers and are called capital sins because they are often the root of other sins. See what the Catechism of the Catholic Church explains:

The vices can be arranged according to the virtues. They are the opposite, or they can also be associated with the capital sins, which Christian experience has distinguished following St. John Cassian and St. Gregory the Great. They are called principal sins because they produce further sins, further vices.

More information on the web:
Otto Dix (Artist)

Minted on Polygon $MATIC

Available on OpenSea.io
SLOTH – One of the Seven Deadly Sins
PRIDE – One of the Seven Deadly Sins
GLUTTONY – One of the Seven Deadly Sins
ENVY – One of the Seven Deadly Sins

Ready to buy on OpenSea.io

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.